Dr. Moana Jackson (Ngāti Kahungunu and Ngāti Porou), Lawyer

Co-founder of Ngā Kaiwhakamārama I ngā Ture (the Māori legal service) and later Te Hau Tikanga (the Māori law commission) set up to investigate the justice system and its bias against Māori. Author of the seminal report He Whaipānga Hou (Māori and the Criminal Justice System, 1988), currently being revised and updated. Constitutional lawyer and expert on the Treaty of Waitangi.


Tracey McIntosh (Tūhoe), Professor of Indigenous Studies

Tracey McIntosh (Tūhoe) is a Professor of Indigenous Studies and Co-Head ofte Wānanga o Waipapa (School of Māori Studies and Pacific Studies) at the University of Auckland. She was the former Co-Director of Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga New Zealand’s Māori Centre of Research Excellence. Her recent research focused on incarceration (particularly of Māori and Indigenous peoples), gang whānau issues and issues pertaining to poverty, inequality and social justice. She is the Co-editor of AlterNative: An International Journal of Indigenous Peoples.


Frieder Dünkel, Professor em. of Criminology

Frieder Dünkel is a previous President of the European Society of Criminology (ESC) and a previous Dean of Law and Vice-Rector of the University of Greifswald in northeast Germany. As a Chair of Criminology, he taught criminology, penology, juvenile justice, criminal procedure and criminal law at the University from 1992-2015 and has undertaken many research projects. These include international comparative projects on men’s prisons in the Baltic States, on women’s imprisonment in Europe, on long-term imprisonment in 10 European countries, on electronic monitoring, on juvenile justice systems and on restorative justice in Europe.


Dr. Kim Workman, QSO (Ngāti Kahungunu and Rangitaane)

Adjunct Research Fellow at the Institute of Criminology, Victoria University of Wellington. Former public servant, with a career spanning roles in Police, State Services Commission, Maori Affairs, and as Head of Prisons. Founder and former National Director of Prison Fellowship NZ, and then “Rethinking Crime and Punishment.” Recipient of numerous awards, including International Prize for Restorative Justice, Stout Fellowship, honorary doctorates from Massey and Victoria Universities, and Senior New Zealander of the Year in 2018.


Tim Chapman, Lecturer in Restorative Practices

Tim Chapman is a visiting lecturer at the University of Ulster in Northern Ireland, UK teaching on the Masters programme in Restorative Practices. He has contributed to the development of restorative justice practice in both the community and statutory sectors (including the Northern Ireland Prison Service) in Northern Ireland. He spent 25 years working in the Probation Service in Northern Ireland. This included working in prisons. He has published widely on restorative justice and effective practice and has conducted significant research into restorative justice in Northern Ireland including the ALTERNATIVE project which focused on restorative justice and intercultural conflict. He is chair of the Board of the European Forum for Restorative Justice.


Miranda Boone, Professor of Criminology

Miranda Boone is a professor of Criminology at Leiden University. Prior to that, she worked as a professor in Penitentiary Law and Penology at the University of Groningen. Miranda Boone has conducted research at the interface of criminology and criminal law. She is particularly interested in the decision-making processes with regard to the application of sentences from a social science and normative perspective. She published extensively on the rise and fall down of the Dutch prison population in the last 20 years and on prison climate.


Lorenn Walker, Restorative Lawyer and Trainer

Lorenn Walker develops, implements, studies and writes about public health, restorative justice and solution-focused approaches for peace building and addressing trauma. She has trained thousands on restorative and solution-focused circle and group practices. She directs Hawai‘i Friends of Restorative Justice; she is a University of Hawai’i adjunct associate professor in the public health office of the School of Social Work; author of several books and over 50 articles; Senior Fulbright Specialist for conflict management and peacemaking training; the principle researcher of numerous cited pilot projects; national and international conference presenter and trainer.


Janine Carroll, Restorative Justice Trainer and Facilitator

Janine Carroll is Director of Restorative Now, specialising in Restorative Practice training, implementation and facilitation. She has 30 years’ experience in restorative practice, across criminal justice, education, police, family social work, housing and community agency sectors, much of this gained in New Zealand and the UK. Janine is an accredited Trainer and Practitioner with the Restorative Justice Council UK. She sits on the Restorative Justice Council UK Expert Advisory Group. Her passion for the universal applicability of Restorative Practice, allows for a move beyond a binary focus on right and wrong doing to one of common human need.


Other conference speakers will include:

Chester Borrows

Chair of Te Uepū Hāpai i te Ora, Safe and Effective Justice Advisory Group, Former National MP

Aphra Green

General Manager, Strategy, Evidence and Investment Group, Ministry of Justice

Prof. Chris Marshall

The Diana Unwin Chair in Restorative Justice, Victoria University of Wellington

Prof. Karin Lasthuizen

Brian Picot Chair in Ethical Leadership, Victoria University of Wellington

Jai Teahunga (Ngāi Tahu, Ngāti Tūwharetoa, Ngāti Mahuta)

BA Māori, Father of four, taiaha instructor. Served 12 years of a life sentence.

Dr. Tom Noakes-Duncan

Lecturer in Restorative Justice, Victoria University of Wellington

Julia Spelman (Ngāti Hikairo Ki Kawhia)

Board Chair JustSpeak and Defence Lawyer

Ben Clark

National Commissioner Corrections Services, Department of Corrections